How to silence, limit and block a person on Instagram

Find out how and the differences between silencing, limiting and blocking a person on Instagram.  (photo: MuyComputer)
Find out how and the differences between silencing, limiting and blocking a person on Instagram. (photo: MuyComputer)

Instagram has for many years become one of the social media more used and in which more hours are invested, both to dedicate time and to work. It is used to inform yourself, stay connected, discover new products or services, learn, reach more people, show what you do, find inspiration and much more.

But all is not so good. Sometimes you may find accounts that are annoying, that you don’t like, that you think are sharing offensive content, or that you don’t want them to see what you do. In these cases, we have the option of deactivate, limit, block or delete an account on this platform.

Initially, Instagram allowed to block a person and ready, but over time it has gained all kinds of intermediate points, since in social networks we must not only have extremist functions. There were also options limit accounts and deactivate them, which also limits interactions, but not as radically as a padlock.

If there are users who have questions about the differences between blocking, limiting and mute people on Instagram, Infobae offers what it consists of and how to configure it.

dumb account on instagram

This tool is the least restrictive and technically not very drastic. What changes is the visibility of that account’s posts, whether they are regular posts or stories. Basically, it’s a feature for when you don’t want to see what this person posts.

Mute account on Instagram.  (photo: Lowi)
Mute account on Instagram. (photo: Lowi)

Accounts that have been deactivated can continue to view posts, comment and send messages, and they will not know that this measure has been chosen, although they will be able to detect it if their posts are never interacted with.

The way to deactivate or reactivate someone on Instagram is very simple:

1. Log in to personal profile.

2. Press the button Following.

3. touch Silence.

4. Check the box you want to disable (Posts or Stories).

Limit your Instagram account

A bar above silence is restrictive, limiting the interactions the person can have with themselves.

Accounts that have been restricted can still comment and send messages, but messages arrive as requests and comments are only visible if approved. It’s like leaving that account to talk to yourself without them noticing.

A person can be restricted by swiping left on a comment, via the Privacy tab in Settings.  (photo: Infobae)
A person can be restricted by swiping left on a comment, via the Privacy tab in Settings. (photo: Infobae)

Restricted accounts cannot see if one is online, even if they can still see your posts and stories. They may not know their accounts have been restricted, although they may intuitively know if they suddenly can’t get read receipts or see they’re signed in.

To restrict an Instagram account, do the following:

1. Log in to profile that you want to limit.

2. Touch the button menu ⋮

3. touch To shrink.

Block accounts on Instagram

The concept of blocking is the easiest to distinguish, as it means cutting off any kind of contact with the person in question. After blocking someone on Instagram, you will not be able to message or comment, see if one is online or view posts or stories.

Block the Instagram account.  (photo: tusexpertosapss.com)
Block the Instagram account. (photo: tusexpertosapss.com)

The lock works both ways and even the user will not be able to see this person’s full profile until it is removed. Instagram doesn’t notify the other person that they’ve been blocked, although it’s pretty obvious when it happens as the account will mysteriously disappear. Comments and likes posted by an account that was blocked disappear and will never be returned, even if the block is removed.

Here’s how to block someone on Instagram:

1. Log in to profile of the account you want to block.

2. Touch the button menu ⋮

3. Choose To block.

4. You can choose to block this account or block this account and any future related accounts you may create.

Differences between silencing, limiting and blocking a person on Instagram

Differences between Mute, Restrict and Block a person on Instagram.  (acquisition: Engadget Android)
Differences between Mute, Restrict and Block a person on Instagram. (acquisition: Engadget Android)

KEEP READING

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.